Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
50 Circuits Identified for the Development of Tourism
Mar 13, 2015

The Ministry of Tourism has identified 50 circuits for development of tourism. These circuits/destinations cover major and relevant tourist places and attractions and have a judicious mix of culture, heritage, spiritualism and ecotourism to give tourists a holistic perspective of the country. 

Key Features

  • Port Blair-Neil Havelock-Little Andaman (Andaman and Nicobar), Kashmir Circuit (Jammu and Kashmir), Desert circuit (Rajasthan), Nature Tourism Circuit (West Bengal), Braj-Agra Circuit (Uttar Pradesh), Gangtok (Sikkim) are the circuits identified circuits among others. 

  • A plan scheme Swadesh Darshan has formulated for integrated development of tourist circuits around specific themes. The five circuits indentified under this scheme are—Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit and North-East Circuit. 

  • The Ministry of Tourism provides Central Financial Assistance (CFA) to various State Governments/Union Territory Administrations for various tourism projects prioritized every year in consultation with them subject to availability of funds, inter-se priority, liquidation of pending utilization certificates against the funds released earlier and adherence to the scheme guidelines.

  • In 2012-13, a total of 136 projects were sanctioned to the states and an amount of Rs 929 crores was sanctioned to them for these projects. In 2013-14, the number of projects sanctioned to the states was 261 and an amount of Rs 1801 crores was sanctioned to them. In 2014-15 (till December, 2014) a total of 53 projects were sanctioned to the states and a sum of Rs 333 crores was sanctioned to them for these projects.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.