Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
सेमिनार: अंग्रेज़ी सीखने का अवसर (23 सितंबर: दोपहर 3 बजे)
24th ASEAN Summit
May 14, 2014

Bridging inequality, tackling regional disputes and pushing the Association for Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) forward on its integration deadline remained the focus at the two-day 24th Summit that concluded in Myanmar on 11 May.

Myanmar President U Thein Sein, who hosted the summit, said the leaders exchanged views on regional and international issues including the South China Sea, the East China Sea, the Korean Peninsula, multilateral cooperation in the search of the missing MH370 flight of Malaysian Airlines, humanitarian assistance and disaster relief and Middle East.

The main result of the summit was the adoption of the Nay Pyi Taw Declaration on Realisation of the Asean community in 2015.

One of the most pivotal decisions to emerge from the summit was the focus on small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) as the prime mover of ASEAN's post-2015 growth.

This is particularly relevant because while the ASEAN Secretariat insists that most countries have achieved around 80 percent of their implementation goals for the community. But some countries are still not ready for the changes the ASEAN community will bring, particularly for a planned economic liberalisation that would reduce trade barriers.

The CLMV countries - Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam - that joined the bloc in the 1990s, risked being adversely affected for lack of preparedness and the comparative smallness of their economies when compared with other members such as Singapore and Indonesia. As such the focus on SMEs is especially important to achieve sustainable and inclusive growth within the bloc.

Promotion of disaster preparedness, humanitarian assistance and a balanced approach in expansion of relations with the regional bloc's dialogue partners were also priorities in the ASEAN community Post-2015 Vision. ASEAN Secretary-General Le Luong Minh defended the organisation's integration goal to be a European Union-like bloc by December 2015. He also pointed out the original deadline by ASEAN leaders had been 2020 but the bloc achieved significant goals even after the deadline had been fast tracked to 2015

The ASEAN community comprises of three pillars: ASEAN Political-Security Community, the ASEAN Economic Community and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community. Each pillar has its own blueprint, and, together with the Initiative for Asean Integration (IAI) Strategic Framework and IAI Work Plan Phase II (2009-2015), they form the roadmap for an ASEAN community (2009-2015).

Minh noted that nearly 80 percent had been achieved in the economic pillar and over 90 percent in the socio-cultural segment.

The ASEAN community, formed in 1967, consists of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.  

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.