Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
सेमिनार: अंग्रेज़ी सीखने का अवसर (23 सितंबर: दोपहर 3 बजे)
13 Cities in 2nd List of Smart Cities
May 26, 2016

The Government on May 24 named 13 more cities that will be developed under 'Smart City Mission'. 20 cities were selected in the first round in January. The Government has a target to create 100 new smart cities by 2022. Lucknow and Warangal top the list of 13 winners. The others are—Dharamshala, Chandigarh, Raipur, New Town Kolkata, Bhagalpur, Panaji, Port Blair, Imphal, Ranchi, Agartala and Faridabad.

  • The 20 cities selected in January were Bhubaneswar, Pune, Jaipur, Surat, Kochi, Ahmedabad, Jabalpur, Visakhapatnam, Solapur, Davangere, Indore, the NDMC area, Coimbatore, Kakinada, Belgaum, Udaipur, Guwahati, Chennai, Ludhiana and Bhopal.

  • The names were picked from a list of 97 cities submitted by states during a competition last year. The choices were judged on service levels, infrastructure and track record.

  • More than 2.5 million citizens weighed in on which urban problems needed to be solved first. To qualify, states and local administrations had to provide "smart answers" to a template with 43 questions.

  • The cities which did not make it in the first round were asked to focus on deficiencies and prepare for a fast-track screening for round 2 of announcements.

  • The contest for the remaining cities will begin in September this year.

  • The Government has said it plans to create 100 new smart cities by 2022 that will have internet connectivity, e-governance along with quality infrastructure such as waste management and efficient public transport.

  • While 20 smart cities were selected during 2015-16 as per guidelines, another 40 would be selected during 2016-17 and the remaining 40 during the next financial year.

  • Each city selected in different rounds of competition will be given central assistance of Rs. 200 crore in the first year and Rs. 100 crore each during the subsequent three financial years. State governments and respective urban local bodies will also provide the same amount.

Other cities that participated in Fast Track Competition were: Namchi, Sikkim ranked 14, Aizawl, Mizoram (15), Pasighat, Arunachal Pradesh (16), Dehradun, Uttarakhand (17), Kohima, Nagaland (18), Oulgaret, Puducherry (19), Silvassa, Dadra & Nagar  Haveli (20), Kavaratti, Lakshdweep (21), Diu, Daman & Diu (22) and Shillong, Meghalaya (23). 

These cities can submit their revised smart city plans for evaluation in the second round of regular competition underway by the end of June.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.