Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
12 Karnataka Cities get New Names
Nov 05, 2014

On the occasion of 59th Kannada Rajyotsava celebrations, the long standing demand of Kannadigas (people of Karnataka) to change their city names is finally done. The state government will come out with an official notification. The order came into effect from November 1.

Bangalore's new name will be Bengaluru while Belgaum will be renamed Belagavi, Mangalore will be Mangaluru, and Mysore will become Mysuru in official records. The new names of other cities are: Ballari for Bellary, Hubballi (Hubli), Tumakuru (Tumkur), Vijapura (Bijapur), Chikkamagaluru (Chikmagalur), Kalaburagi (Gulbarga), Hosapete (Hospet) and Shivamogga (Shimoga).

The authorities have suggested that institutions must adopt the new names.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.