Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
About Civil Services Exam

The Civil Services Examination is the renowned examination among candidates preparing for general competition.

This examination provides the best opportunity to candidates for joining Civil Services in India. UPSC conducts this examination every year. Candidates who qualify this examination are selected to join various dignified posts in which IAS, IPS, IFS come primarily in a row. UPSC is concerned with the process of examination which can be explained as following:

The process passes through three stages namely: Preliminary, Mains and Interviews. In preliminary examination, two types of papers having objective notice are asked. These are: General Studies Paper-I and General Studies Paper-II (also called CSAT[Civil Services Aptitude Test]).

Candidates who qualify the preliminary examination are eligible to appear at the mains examination.

Note: Since Preliminary examination is of qualifying nature, so marks of this examination would not be added in the final selection process.

Mains examination is of subjective in nature. 

  • In this examination, promise General Studies contains four papers, 250 marks each.

  • One optional subject is to be opted from among the subjects given by UPSC based on two categories: One is subjects list and another one is from language papers.The candidates need to choose any one of the optional from these two categories, containing two papers of 250 marks each.

  • One essay paper is to be asked of 250 marks.

  • Along with any Indian language from the 8th schedule of Indian constitution and English paper are of qualifying nature, in which you have to secure min. 30% and 25% marks out of 300 each respectively for qualifying these compulsory papers.

These two papers would be asked of 10th standard level only. Generally, candidates who can’t able to qualify these two papers, rest of their papers wouldn’t be checked. Those candidates would automatically be disqualified in this order.

After qualifying the mains examination, candidates are called for the final stage of this process i.e. interview, which is of 275 marks.

The final selection depends upon the total marks obtained in mains examination and interview. Accordingly, Rank is also decided on the basis of marks obtained during these two stages. In brief, the Civil Services Examination is such examination which requires not only hard labour but also continuous dedication, curiosity to learn new things and then their efficient implementation.   

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.