Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI) | 01 Jul 2022

Why in News?

The Union Cabinet approves categorizing the Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI) as an "International Organization".

  • It also approved the signing of the Headquarters Agreement further granting it the exemptions, immunities, and privileges contemplated by the United Nations (Privileges and Immunities) Act, 1947, which means that member's property and assets wherever located and by whomsoever held, shall enjoy immunity from every form of legal process except in any particular case it has expressly waived its immunity.

What is its Significance of the Categorisation?

  • Expert Consultations:
    • It would help in delegating experts to other countries that are particularly vulnerable to disaster risk and/or require assistance with post-disaster recovery, as well as bringing experts from member countries to India for similar purposes.
    • It will make technical expertise available to assist countries in developing resilient infrastructure in accordance with their disaster and climate risks and resources;
    • It will provide assistance to countries in developing appropriate risk governance arrangements and resilient infrastructure strategies.
  • Enhanced Funding and Cooperation:
    • It will help in deploying funds globally and receiving contributions from member countries for CDRI activities.
    • It will provide all possible assistance to member countries in upgrading their systems to ensure disaster and climate resilience of existing and future infrastructure, in accordance with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Paris Climate Agreement, and the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction.
    • It will use international engagement to foster disaster-resilient infrastructure at home and providing an opportunity for Indian scientific and technical institutions as well as infrastructure developers to interact with global experts.

What is Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI)?

UPSC Civil Services Examination, Previous Year Question (PYQ)

Q. Consider the following statements: (2016)

  1. The Sustainable Development Goals were first proposed in 1972 by a global think tank called the ‘Club of Rome’.
  2. The Sustainable Development Goals have to be achieved by 2030.

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

(a) 1 only
(b) 2 only
(c) Both 1 and 2 
(d) Neither 1 nor 2

Ans: (b)


  • The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, are a universal call for action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity. They are built upon the success of the Millennium Development Goals, including new areas such as climate change, economic inequality, innovation, sustainable consumption, peace and justice, among other priorities.
  • The goals are interconnected – often the key to success on one will involve tackling issues more commonly associated with another. Adopted in 2015, SDGs came into effect in January 2016. They are meant to be achieved by 2030. Hence, statement 2 is correct. The SDGs were born at the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development in Rio de Janeiro in 2012. The Club of Rome advocated resource conservation for the first time in a more systematic way in 1968. Hence, statement 1 is not correct. Therefore, option (b) is the correct answer.

Source: PIB