PM Gets Bhutan’s Highest Civilian Award | 20 Dec 2021

Why in News

Recently, the Prime Minister of India has been conferred by Bhutan’s highest civilian award, 'Order of the Druk Gyalpo' also known as “Ngadag Pel gi Khorlo".

Key Points

  • About:
    • The announcement of the award coincided with the occasion of the 114th National Day of Bhutan.
    • This is the highest decoration of Bhutan and is awarded in recognition of a lifetime of service to the people and the Kingdom of Bhutan.
    • Order of the Dragon King was founded on 7th November 2008, to reward those who devoted a lifetime of service to the nation and people of Bhutan.
    • The honours exist in two categories. Order of the Dragon King is the pinnacle of the honour system in Bhutan and also takes precedence over all other orders, medals and decorations.

Other Awards Won by the Indian PM

  • Order of Abdulaziz Al Saud (2016): The highest honour of Saudi Arabia awarded to non-muslim dignitaries.
  • State Order of Ghazi Amir Amanullah Khan (2016): The highest civilian honour of Afghanistan.
  • Grand Collar of the State of Palestine Award (2018): The highest honour of Palestine awarded to foreign dignitaries.
  • Order of Zayed Award (2019): The highest civilian honour of the United Arab Emirates.
  • Order of St. Andrew award (2019): The highest civilian honour of Russia
  • Order of the Distinguished Rule of Nishan Izzuddin (2019) The highest honour of the Maldives awarded to foreign dignitaries.
  • King Hamad Order of the Renaissance - First Class (2019): Bahrain's top honour.
  • Legion of Merit by the US Government (2020): The United States Armed Forces award given for exceptionally meritorious conduct in the performance of outstanding services and achievements.
  • Seoul Peace Prize (2018): Seoul Peace Prize Cultural Foundation's biennial award (South Korea) to those individuals who have made their mark through contributions to the harmony of mankind, reconciliation between nations and world peace.
  • Champions of The Earth Award (2018): The United Nation’s highest environmental honour
  • First Philip Kotler Presidential award (2019): Offered to the leader of a nation.
  • Global Goalkeeper Award: Honour by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation for Swachh Bharat Abhiyan (2019)
  • Global Energy and Environment Leadership Award (2021): Awarded by the Cambridge Energy Research Associates CERA for commitment of leadership towards the future of global energy and the environment.

Source: IE