Reconstitution of State Wildlife Board | 03 Dec 2022

Why In News?

According to information received from the media on December 2, 2022, the Uttarakhand State Wildlife Board has been reorganized. Three NGOs and seven non-governmental members have been nominated for a two-year term. Instructions have been issued by the government in this regard.

Key Points

  • The order issued by Forest Secretary Vijay Yadav said that the State Wildlife Board has been reconstituted under the Wildlife Protection Act. Under the provision given in the Act, approval has been given by the Governor to nominate the members for two years.
  • The state wildlife board is headed by the chief minister, while the vice-chairman is the forest minister. Apart from this, a total of 15 ex-officio members, including the Director General of Police of the state, and 16 members are nominated by the state government. Apart from this, three legislature party members, three NGOs members and seven members are named ecologists, environmentalists and conservationists.
  • The NGOs nominated to the State Wildlife Board are:
    • WWF India, World Nature Fund, India
    • Himalayan Environment Studies and Conservation Organization (HESCO), Dehradun
    • Himalayan Exxon Research Centre, Dehradun
  • The non-official members nominated to the State Wildlife Board are:
    • Anup Shah, Nainital (Well-known photographer)
    • Anil Kumar Dutt (Retired IFS)
    • B.S. Bonal (Retired Additional Director General, Wildlife)
    • Faiz Aftab, Dehradun
    • Mayank Tiwari, Nainital
    • Sanjay Sondhi, Titli Trust, Dehradun
    • Om Prakash Bhatt, Sarvodaya Kendra Chamoli
  • It is known that the proposal to include new members was sent to the state government on behalf of the Forest Department in October.