Five Haryana Sportspersons get Arjuna Award | 02 Dec 2022

Why In News?

The Arjuna Award was presented to 25 sportspersons of the country by President Draupadi Murmu at the National Sports Awards-2022 ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan on November 30, 2022. These include five players from Haryana.

Key Points

  • The five sportspersons from Haryana who have been awarded the Arjuna Award include boxer Amit Panghal, Athlete Seema Poonia, wrestlers Anshu Malik and Sarita Mor and badminton para-player Tarun Dhillon.
  • Instead of Amit Panghal, his mother received the award from President Draupadi Murmu.
  • The Arjuna Award is the oldest national sports award in India. It started in 1961. The award, dedicated to sports personalities for their excellence in sports, is the second most prestigious award after the Khel Ratna. This award is given for outstanding performance, leadership quality, sportsmanship and discipline.
  • The Arjuna Award carries a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh, a bronze statuette and a citation.