8 thousand 108 Villages of 16 Districts Have Been Declared Deficient | 17 Mar 2023

Why In News?

  • On March 16, 2023, the state government issued a notification declaring 8,108 villages in 16 districts as poverty-stricken. This notification will remain in force till March 31, 2023.

Key points

  • Based on Kharif crop 2022 (Samvat 2079) regular and special Girdawari report received from district collectors, a notification has been issued for the villages of these districts to provide relief to the farmers in case of crop failure due to floods.
  • According to the notification issued by the Disaster Management, Relief and Civil Defence Department, relief has been provided to 1597 villages in Jhalawar district, 1231 in Baran, 957 in Bharatpur, 766 in Kota, 717 in Banswara and 716 in Tonk district.
  • Similarly, relief has been provided to 625 villages of Pratapgarh district, 517 of Bundi, 347 of Nagaur, 274 of Udaipur, 227 of Ajmer, 58 of Dhaulpur, 47 of Jodhpur, 14 of Sawai Madhopur, 13 of Karauli and 02 of Sriganganagar.