63rd Session of IHRC held at Uttar Pradesh State Archives | 21 Dec 2022

Why In News?

  • The 63rd session of the Indian Historical Records Committee (IHRC) was held at Uttar Pradesh State Archives, Lucknow on December 18-19, 2022.

Key Points

  • The 63rd session of IHRC was inaugurated on December 18 by Daya Shankar Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of Transport, Government of Uttar Pradesh.
  • An exhibition titled 'Saga of Independence: Known and Little Known Struggles' based on original archival sources from the collection of National Archives of India was also inaugurated during the session.
  • The two-day session included inaugural and professional sessions on the first day and academic sessions on the next day. Scholars in Indian history in 1600 AD. A total of 24 research papers based on the original sources of the latter were presented on various aspects of history.
  • The Indian Historical Records Committee (IHRC) is an all-India forum of creators, custodians and users of records which was established in 1919 to advise the Government of India on all issues relating to the management of records and their use for historical research.
  • The National Archives of India, New Delhi, is the secretariat of the Indian Historical Records Committee (renamed as the Indian Historical Records Committee in 1911).
  • The IHRC is chaired by the Union Culture Minister and consists of 134 members including representatives of Government of India agencies, Government of India nominees, archives of State/Union Territories, universities and scholarly institutions. The IHRC has so far conducted 62 sessions.
  • The Committee has two subsidiary bodies, (I) the Editorial Committee to examine and approve the papers based on archival sources for submission in the sessions of the Committees and (ii) the Standing Committee to review the action taken by the Committee on its recommendations and express its views on the agenda of the Committee's meeting in this regard. The Secretary of the Ministry of Culture serves as the Chairman of the Standing Committee of the IHRC.