Mediterranean Sea

Key Points

  • Physical Geography:
    • A sea of the Atlantic Ocean, lies between the continents of Eurasia and Africa enclosed almost completely by land.
    • Bordering Countries (21 countries): Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Slovenia, Spain, Syria, Tunisia, and Turkey.
    • To the west it is connected to the Atlantic Ocean through the Strait of Gibraltar, to the east with the Black Sea through the Dardanelles Straits, and to the south with the Red Sea through Suez Canal.
    • Nile river (Africa) drains into the Mediterranean Sea.
  • Recent Related Events: