

Rajasthan Diwas 2024

Why in News?

Rajasthan Diwas is observed annually on 30th March to celebrate the foundation day of the state, marking the day it officially became a part of the federal entity.

Key Points

- It is the largest state in terms of area. Rajasthan has a long history that dates back to prehistoric times. Its culture was similar to the <u>Indus Valley civilization</u>, dating back to between 3,000 and 1,000 BC.
- The Chauhans became an imperial power by the 12th century, having dominated Rajput affairs since the 7th century. Following the Chauhans, the Mewar Guhilots ruled over the fate of the warring tribes.
- The present day Rajasthan came into being in following 7 phases:
 - Matsya Union: The division of India was manifested by communal agitation on a great scale that overwhelmed the nation. Bharatpur and Alwar were also not secured from these riots.
 - On 17th March 1948, the Indian Government took over the supervision of these states as the rulers failed to uphold peace. Neighbouring regions to these states were Karauli and Dholpur. On Government advice, all four states agreed to come together to form the Matsya Union.
 - Rajasthan Union: On 25th March 1948, ten more states namely Kushalgarh, Banswara, Kota, Bundi, Jhalawar, Tonk, Shahpura, Pratapgarh, Dungarpur and Kishangarh of southern and South-eastern Rajputana joined together to structure another union that is named East Rajasthan.
 - United States of Rajasthan: Subsequently, the Udaipur state (Mewar) also got united in the Rajasthan union on 18th April 1948. The name was then changed to United Rajasthan. Therefore 15 states of Rajasthan created their own association.
 - Greater Rajasthan: On 30th March 1949, the four states viz. Jodhpur, Jaipur, Bikaner and Jaisalmer joined this integration and the region came to be known as Greater Rajasthan. The principalities of Neemra and Lawa also joined this. March 30th is now celebrated as Rajasthan day.
 - United States of Greater Rajasthan: On 15th May 1949, the Matsya Union was amalgamated into Greater Rajasthan and thereafter the confederation was named the United state of Greater Rajasthan.
 - United Rajasthan: The only state, Sirohi, had not joined the federation so far. Sirohi state joined the federation on 26th January 1950.
 - Re-organized Rajasthan: Ajmer-Merwara region was for a long period of time under unswerving British rule and it was fused with Rajasthan on 1st November 1956 on the proposal of the statement of the State Reorganization Commission. Madhya Pradesh's Bhanpura Tehsil and Gujarat's Abu Tehsil were also merged with Rajasthan at that time.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/rajasthan-diwas-2024

