

Rajasthan Sahitya Academy Announced Annual Awards for the Year 2023-24

Why In News?

After the approval of the meeting of the Directors and Saraswati Sabha held at Meera Bhawan of Rajasthan Sahitya Academy, Udaipur on September 26, 2023, Academy President Dr. Dularam Saharan announced the annual awards of the Academy for the year 2023-24.

Key Points:

- Under the annual awards given by the Academy, the highest Meera Award for the year 2023-24 will be given to Jaipur resident Ratankumar Sambhariya for his novel 'Snake'.
- Progressive writer, thinker and former president of the Academy, Ved Vyas will be honored with the highest honor 'Sahitya-Manishi' in the Academy's honor tradition.
- Renowned critic and scholar Dr. Ranjit will be honored with the Academy's Janardanarai Nagar Award.
- In the series of awards of the Academy for the year 2023-24, Sudhindra Award was given to Chetan Audichya of Udaipur for the poetry collection 'Paani', Rangeya Raghav Award was given to Purushottam Pomal of Jalore for the novel 'Pashan Putri Kshatrani Heera-De', Devraj Upadhyay Award Bikaner. The Kanhaiyalal Sahal Award will be given to Jaipur's Raghavendra Rawat for his diary 'Marak Laharon Ke Beech' for critic Harish B Sharma's work 'Prasthan Bindu'.
- Whereas in drama genre, Devilal Samar Award went to Ajmer's Ras Bihari Gaur for his work 'Gandhi Zinda Hai', in children's literature Shambhudayal Saxena Award went to Kota native Chennai resident Rochika Arun Sharma for his short story 'Kitabaon Se Baatein' and the first Kriti Sumnesh Joshi Award will be given to Bilal Pathan of Udaipur for 'Ab Pede Phal Bechenge'.
- Academy Secretary Dr. Basant Singh Solanki said that after the approval of the Director-Saraswati meeting, Academy President Dr. Dula Ram Saharan has also announced the school-college awards.
- The winning students of Chandradev Sharma Award include Damodar Sharma (Ikkis College Gopalyan-Lunkaransar) for poetry, Surendra Singh (Rajasthan University, Jaipur) for story, Amandeep Nirvan (SSS College, Taranagar) for one-act play and the essay will be given to Pawan Kumar Gusain (Ekkis College, Gopalyan).
- Pardeshi Award for poetry was given to Shumbhagi Sharma (Raumavi Bhawanimandi-Jhalawar), Pari Joshi for story (The Scholars Arena, Udaipur), Karuna Ranga for essay (Ikkis Academy for Excellence, Gopalyan) and award for short story will be given to Dropati Jakhar (Ikkasi Academy for Excellence, Gopalyan).
- Sudha Gupta Award for the year 2023-24 will be given to Kaushalya of Twenty-One College Gopalyan for her essay.
- It is noteworthy that the Academy gives seventy-five thousand rupees for the Meera Award, twenty-one thousand rupees for Sumnesh Joshi Award and thirty one thousand rupees for other awards.
 Whereas the highest Sahitya Manishi award is worth Rs 2.5 lakh and Janardan Rai Nagar Samman is worth Rs 1 lakh.
- The number of school-college awards is five thousand rupees each.

 $PDF\ Reference\ URL:\ https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/rajasthan-sahitya-academy-announced-annual-awards-for-the-year-2023-24$

