

National Medal to 21 Policemen of Bihar

Why is News?

On the eve of Independence Day on August 14, 2023, the Union Home Ministry announced awards to be given to police personnel from across the country, including 21 police personnel, including two senior officers of Bihar Police.

Key Points:

- Among the 21 police personnel, two police officers will be awarded police medals for gallantry, two
 police officers will be awarded President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service and 17 police
 officers and personnel will be awarded Police Medal for meritorious service.
- These include Director General of Police, Training Preeta Verma and Director General of Police (BSAP) Amarendra Kumar Ambedkar for distinguished service.
- The two police officials who will be awarded the Gallantry Award for gallantry for gunning down Naxals are Superintendent of Police Sushil Kumar (currently Superintendent of Police, Madhubani) and Police Under-Inspector Aniruddh Kumar posted in Lakhisarai.
- Among the 17 police personnel who received the Police Medal for meritorious service are Madhepura Superintendent of Police Rajesh Kumar, Katihar Railway Superintendent of Police Sanjay Bharti, Sonpur Sub-Divisional Police Officer Anjani Kumar, Chhapra Sub-Divisional Police Officer Santosh Kumar, Patna Additional Superintendent of Police Ajay Kumar, Samastipur Sadar Sub-Divisional Police Officer Sanjay Kumar Pandey. Inspector Virendra Kumar Medhavi, Police Inspector Virendra Kumar Medhavi, CID Sub-Inspector Binnur Rajak, Police Under Inspector Ghulam Mustafa in Patna SSP's office, CID Police Under Inspector Md. Istkhar Khan, Havildar Angad Singh Yadav of Dumraon (Buxar), Rahul Kumar, Assistant Sub-Inspector of CID, Indra Kamal Jha, Assistant Sub-Inspector of Prohibition Unit, STF, Patna's Havaldar Vijay Kumar Singh, Nalanda District Force constable Amarendra Kumar Mishra, CID, Constable Rahul Kumar of Patna and Constable Shambhu Kumar of Munger district force.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/national-medal-to-21-policemen-of-bihar