Schengen Zone

Source: TH

Why in News?

Recently, **Kosovo** achieved a significant milestone after facing delays in **Schengen approval.** It has secured visa-free access to the **Schengen zone,** the world's largest area of free movement.

 Kosovo becomes the last non-<u>European Union (EU)</u> country in the Western Balkans to enjoy this privilege.

What is the Schengen Zone?

- About:
 - The Schengen Agreement is a treaty signed in 1985 by five member states (Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands) of the European Economic Community.
 - The agreement aims to **create a border-free area in Europe** that allows the free movement of people, goods, services, and capital called the Schengen Area, where internal border checks are largely abolished.
 - All EU member states without opt-outs must join Schengen upon meeting technical requirements.
 - Non-EU countries like Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Iceland are part of Schengen through special association agreements.
 - Over time, the Schengen area has grown to **encompass 27 countries**, spanning over **4 million square kilometres** and hosting nearly 420 million inhabitants.
- Benefits of Schengen:
 - Schengen enables seamless travel for over 400 million individuals across member states without border checks.
 - Facilitates approximately 1.25 billion journeys annually, fostering tourism, cultural exchange, and economic prosperity.
 - Schengen promotes cooperation among police, customs, and border control authorities to combat terrorism and organized crime.
 - For nationals of Schengen countries, visa-free travel and the absence of internal border checks enhance convenience and facilitate economic integration.
 - Schengen's border-free regime symbolises European values of unity and solidarity.



Key Facts About Kosovo

- Kosovo, which has a majority Albanian population and a minority of Serbs, is a landlocked region bordered by Albania, Macedonia, Serbia, and Montenegro.
- Its capital and largest city is Pristina.
- According to the <u>World Bank</u>, Kosovo is a parliamentary republic and upper-middle-income country. It declared independence from Serbia on 17th February 2008 and is recognised as an independent country by more than 100 <u>United Nations</u> members.
 - India, Brazil, China, Russia, and Mexico have not recognised Kosovo as an independent country.
 - However, **Serbia does not recognize Kosovo as an independent state** and continues to claim it as the Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija.



Read more: Kosovo-Serbia Conflict

UPSC Civil Services Examination, Previous Year Question (PYQ)

Q. Consider the following pairs : (2023) Regions often Reason for being in news mentioned in news

- 1. North Kivu and Ituri : War between Armenia and Azerbaijan
- 2. Nagorno-Karabakh: Insurgency in Mozambique
- 3. Kherson and Zaporizhzhia: Dispute between Israel and Lebanon

How many of the above pairs are correctly matched?

(a) Only one(b) Only two(c) All three(d) None

Ans: (d)

Exp:

- Kivu and Ituri are related to the Republic of Congo. A war between the Republic of Congo and Rwanda started in 1994 with the genocide of 800,000 Rwandan Tutsis and Hutus. Hence, pair 1 is NOT correctly matched.
- Nagorno-Karabakh is a region of southwestern Azerbaijan. It is used to refer to an autonomous oblast (province) of the former Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic (S.S.R.) and to the Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh, a self-declared country whose independence is not internationally recognized. The old autonomous region occupied an area of about 1,700 square miles (4,400 square km), while the forces of the self-proclaimed Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh presently occupy some 2,700 square miles (7,000 square km). Hence, pair 2 is NOT correctly matched.

The Vision

• Kherson and Zaporizhzhia are related to Ukraine and they are related to the dispute between Ukraine and Russia. **Hence, pair 3 is NOT correctly matched.**

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/schengen-zone