

Centre Withdrew Draft Heritage Bylaws on Jagannath Temple

Why in News

The Centre has **withdrawn the draft heritage bylaws issued by the** <u>National Monuments Authority</u> (NMA) for Shree Jagannath Temple in Puri, Odisha.

■ The Odisha Government is demanding withdrawal of the bylaws for temples in Ekamra Kshetra area of Bhubaneswar as well.

Key Points

- Draft Heritage Bylaws:
 - Background:
 - The government in 2010 formed the National Monuments Authority under the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains (Amendment and Validation) Act, 2010.
 - NMA's primary role was to prepare heritage bylaws for the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) listed structures.
 - Meaning:
 - The Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains
 (Amendment and Validation) Act 2010 mandates that monument-specific heritage bylaws be prepared to regulate construction activity near ASI-protected monuments.
 - The draft heritage bylaws need to be approved by Parliament.
- The Case of Odisha:
 - The State government considered that the byelaws would have hampered the grand infrastructure development planned around 12th century Shree Jagannath Temple in Puri.
 - Similar heritage bylaws have been drafted for two temples in Bhubaneswar the 13th century Vaishnava temple of Ananta Basudev and Shiva temple of Brahmeswar, both in the Ekamra Kshetra area.
 - In 2020, the state government **planned a beautification project** around the area spread across 1,126 acre and develop it into a major tourist attraction.
- Jagannath Temple:



Construction:

• It is believed to be constructed in the 12th century by **King Anatavarman Chodaganga Deva of the Eastern Ganga Dynasty.**

Mythology:

• Jagannath Puri temple is called **'Yamanika Tirtha'** where, according to the Hindu beliefs, the power of 'Yama', the god of death, has been nullified due to the presence of Lord Jagannath.

Architecture:

- This temple was called the **"White Pagoda"** and is **a part of Char Dham** pilgrimages (Badrinath, Dwaraka, Puri, Rameswaram).
- There are **four gates to the temple-** Eastern 'Singhdwara' which is the main gate with two crouching lions, Southern 'Ashwadwara', Western 'Vyaghra Dwara and Northern 'Hastidwara'. There is a **carving of each form at each gate.**
- In front of the entrance stands the Aruna stambha or sun pillar, which was originally at the Sun Temple in Konark.
- Festival: The World famous Rath Yatra (Car Festival) & Bahuda Yatra.

Other Important Monuments in Odisha:

- Konark Sun Temple (UNESCO World Heritage Site).
- Tara Tarini Temple.
- Lingaraj Temple.
- Udaygiri and Khandagiri Caves.

The Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains (Amendment and Validation) Act, 2010

Objective:

 To preserve, conserve, protect and maintain all ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains declared of national importance, and their surrounding areas up to a distance of 300 meters (or more as may be specified in certain cases) in all directions.

Provisions:

- No construction or reconstruction is permitted in the prohibited area (an area up
 to a distance of 100 meters in all directions from the nearest protected limit of nearby
 protected monument or protected area declared as of national importance), but repair or
 renovation is considered.
- In the regulated area (an area up to a distance of 200 meters in all directions from the prohibited area of any protected monument and protected area declared as of national importance), repair/renovation/construction/reconstruction are considered.
- All applications for construction related work in the prohibited and regulated areas are to be submitted to the Competent Authorities (CA) and then to National Monuments

Authority (NMA) for consideration.

• NMA functions under the **Ministry of Culture.**

Source: TH

