## **Constitution of the Sixteenth Finance Commission**

The **Government of India**, in adherence to **Article 280(1) of the Constitution**, has established the <u>Sixteenth Finance Commission</u>, appointing **Dr. Arvind Panagariya**, former Vice-Chairman of NITI Aayog and Professor at Columbia University, as its **Chairman**.

 Specific terms of reference have been outlined, including the <u>distribution of tax proceeds</u> between the Union and States, principles governing grants-in-aid to States, and measures to bolster State funds for local bodies like Panchayats and Municipalities.

The Vision

- The Commission has also been tasked with reviewing disaster management financing arrangements under the <u>Disaster Management Act</u>, 2005, and making recommendations for improvements.
- The Commission has been requested to make its report available by 31<sup>st</sup> October, 2025.

Read more: Sixteenth Finance Commission

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/constitution-of-the-sixteenth-finance-commission