

Gallantry Awards

On the **75th Republic Day**, the **President of India approved** <u>Gallantry awards</u> to 80 Armed Forces and security forces personnel, 12 of which were awarded posthumously.

- Gallantry Awards have been instituted by the Government of India to honour the acts of bravery and sacrifice of the officers/personnel of the Armed Forces, other lawfully constituted Forces and civilians.
- Post-independence, the first three gallantry awards namely <u>Param Vir Chakra</u>, <u>Maha Vir Chakra</u> and <u>Vir Chakra</u> were instituted by the Government of India on 26th January 1950 and were deemed to have effect from the 15th August 1947.
 - After that, other three gallantry awards i.e. Ashoka Chakra Class-I, Ashoka Chakra Class-II and Ashoka Chakra Class-III were instituted by the Government of India on 4th January, 1952, which were deemed to have effect from the 15th August, 1947.
 - These awards were renamed as Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra respectively in January, 1967.
- These gallantry awards are announced twice in a year, first on the occasion of the Republic
 Day and then on the occasion of the Independence Day.
- Gallantry awards are categorized into two types:
 - Wartime Gallantry Awards
 - These awards are given for bravery in the face of the enemy.
 - Peacetime Gallantry Awards
 - These awards are given for bravery other than in the face of the enemy.



• Order of precedence of these awards is the Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.

Read more: Gallantry Awards

