

Satish Mahana: Speaker of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly

Why in News?

On March 29, 2022, senior BJP leader Satish Mahana was elected as the Speaker of the Eighteenth Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh.

Key Points

- Pro-tem speaker Ramapati Shastri announced the election in the house.
- Former cabinet minister Satish Mahana, replacing Pandit Hriday Narayan Dixit, is the 23rd Speaker of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly and 18th person to be elected as the Speaker.
- Satish Mahana has been elected MLA for the eighth consecutive time from Maharajpur (Kanpur).
 He was first elected to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly in 1991.
- It is noteworthy that Purushottam Das Tandon was the first Speaker of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly. Kesarinath Tripathi had held the post of president for the maximum 13 years.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/satish-mahana-speaker-of-the-uttar-pradesh-legislative-assembly