

## Devesh Chandra Thakur appointed chairman of Bihar Legislative Council

## Why In News?

 On August 24, 2022, JDU leader Devesh Chandra Thakur has been elected as the Chairman of the Bihar Legislative Council. Mahagathbandhan candidate Devesh Chandra Thakur was elected unopposed for the post of chairman.

## **Key Points**

- Devesh Chandra Thakur has been elected as the Chairman of the Legislative Council in place of Executive Chairman Awadhesh Narayan Singh.
- Devesh Chandra Thakur had filed his nomination for the post of Bihar Legislative Council Chairman on August 24 as the Grand Alliance candidate.
- A special meeting was scheduled to be held on August 25 to elect the chairman of the Legislative Council, but the grand alliance candidate Devesh Chandra Thakur was elected unopposed as no candidate filed nomination from the opposition.
- Devesh Chandra Thakur has been the Minister of Disaster Management in Nitish Kumar's government, having won the election in 2002 as an independent candidate from Tirhut graduate constituency. He then joined JDU in 2004. He was nominated by JDU from Tirhut graduate constituency in 2008 and he managed to win the election and became a minister in the Nitish government.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/devesh-chandra-thakur-appointed-chairman-of-bihar-legislative-council