

## Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council Election, 2022

## Why in News?

The results of the elections for 36 seats of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council were declared on April 12, 2022.

## **Key Points**

- Out of 36 seats, 33 seats have been won by BJP, 1 by Jansatta Dal Democratic and 2 seats by independent candidates.
- The number/position of major political parties in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council is as follows-
  - Bharatiya Janata Party- 66
  - Samajwadi Party- 17
  - BSP-4
- These recently concluded elections pertain to the local authority constituency. It is noteworthy that 1/3rd of the total members of the Legislative Council are elected by the local bodies, such as municipal and district boards, etc.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/uttar-pradesh-legislative-council-election-2022