

## 'State Planning Commission' Now 'State Transformation Commission'

## Why In News?

 In a meeting of the Uttar Pradesh Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on September 27, 2022, the State Planning Commission was reconstituted and renamed as the State Transformation Commission.

## **Key Points**

- Uttar Pradesh Power Minister AK Sharma told reporters that the State Transformation Commission (STC) will be headed by the Chief Minister while the Finance Minister, both Deputy CMs, Agriculture Minister, Social Welfare Minister, Panchayati Raj Development Minister, Industrial Development Minister, Water Resources Minister and Urban Development Minister will be its members.
- The vice-president of STC will be a renowned economist or social scientist. The other members include chief secretary, additional chief secretary and principal secretaries of various departments including finance, agriculture, rural development, medical and health, industrial development and planning.
- The commission will also have non-official members, experts in the social sector, agriculture and economy. The term of these nominated members will be three years, which can be extended up to two years.
- Power Minister A K Sharma said the commission will act as a think tank and formulate policies after consultations with experts from various departments. The problems that the state is facing will be identified by the Commission and ways to solve them will be found. The use of PPP model will also be discussed. The present plan and their outcome will be evaluated by the Commission.
- The Planning Commission was set up in Uttar Pradesh on August 24, 1972 and helped the state government formulate policies by identifying need-based areas.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/state-planning-commission-now-state-transformation-commission