

PM Lays Foundation Stone for Redevelopment of Railway Stations

Why in News?

Recently, Prime Minister Narendra Modi virtually laid the foundation stone for **redevelopment of 33 railway stations** and construction of 72 other projects in Bihar under the **East Central Railway (ECR) zone.**

Key Points

- Under the <u>Amrit Bharat Stations scheme</u>, the project aims to <u>enhance connectivity</u>, <u>trade</u>, <u>and business</u> across the country.
- According to the official statement, thirty-three railway stations which will now be redeveloped in Bihar include: Barauni, Siwan, Munger, Thawe, Sabaur, Arariya, Shivnarayanpur, Dauram Madhepura, Dehri On Sone, Guraru, Karagola Road, Chausa, Laheria Sarai, Banka, Simri Bakhtiyarpur, Supaul, Nawadah, Raxaul, Motipur, Luckeesarai, Masrakh, Rafiganj, Mairwa, Piro, Bikramganj, Labha, Janakpur Road, Chakia, Nabinagar Road, Ghorasshan, Salmari, Ekma and Shahpur Patoree.
- Under the project, stations will be redeveloped as city centres with provision of amenities like a shopping zone, food court, kids play area, etc.
 - There will be provision of segregated entry and exit gates, multi-level parking, lift escalator, executive lounge, waiting area and travelator at the redeveloped stations.

Amrit Bharat Stations Scheme

- The Amrit Bharat Station Scheme aims to redevelop 1309 stations nationwide.
- The redevelopment will provide modern passenger amenities along with ensuring well-designed traffic circulation, inter-modal integration, and signage for the guidance of passengers.
- The Scheme was launched in February 2023 by the Ministry of Railways.

The East Central Railway (ECR) Zone

- Its Headquarter is at Hajipur (Bihar) was formed on 1st October 2002.
- It was established by carving out the Sonepur & Samastipur division of North Eastern Railway & Dhanbad, Danapur & Mughalsarai division of Eastern Railway