

Government Honored 40 Artists of Bihar

Why in News

- On September 16, 2021, a state award distribution ceremony was organized at **Bihar Museum** under the aegis **Upendra Maharathi Crafts Research Institute.**
 - During this ceremony, Industries Minister of Bihar State Syed Shahnawaz Hussain presented awards to 40 craftsmen and artists from the state for the year 2017-18.

Key Points

- On this occasion, the Industries Minister said that the Bihar government would develop one handicraft in every district of the state. It will be made the identity of the district.
- He said that the amount of state award has been increased from Rs. 22,000 to Rs. 50,000. Along with this, the amount of State Merit Award (Rajya Medha Puraskar) has now been increased from Rs. 11,000 to Rs.25 thousand. To help the craftsmen, the government has prepared a Revolving Fund of 1 Crore 31 Lakh rupees.
- The Artist Who Received the State Award are- Hema Devi (Paper Mache), Pawan Kumar Sagar (Manjusha Art), Santvana Singh (Metal Craft), Rajendra Sah (Lacquer Craft), Pappu Kumar (Sikki Art), Rupesh Kumar (Terracotta), Khushboo Kumari (Tikuli Art), Gopal Prasad (Wood Art), Ganesh Prasad (Stone Art), Nutan Bala (Mithila Painting), Nalini Shah (Mithila Painting), Dinesh Kumar Paswan (Mithila Painting), Surendra Paswan (Mithila Painting), Anju Devi Mishra (Mithila Painting), Indrakant Jha (Mithila Painting), Dr. Rani Jha (Mithila Painting), Mamta Devi (Mithila Painting), Amit Kumar Jha (Mithila Painting), Priyanshu Kumar (Mithila Painting), Roshan Kumar (Mithila Painting).
- The Artists awarded with the State Merit Award/Rajya Medha Puraskar are- Meena Devi (Applique), Neelam Bharti (Applique), Rinku Devi (Sujani Art), Soni Kumari (Sujani Art), Kumari Kiran (Venu Craft), Jitendra Kumar Rai (Sikki Art), Dinesh Pandit (Terracotta), Shiv Shankar Pandit (Terracotta), Soni Kumari (Tikuli Art), Umesh Thakur (Wood Art), Roopa Kumari (Jute Craft), Vibha Srivastava (Croatia Craft), Sushil Vishwakarma (Weaving Craft), Anita Pandey (Bhojpuri Painting), Sanjeev Kumar Jha (Mithila Paintings), Pooja Kumari (Mithila Paintings), Rajni Kumari (Mithila Paintings), Sneha Das (Mithila Paintings), Ranju Devi (Mithila Paintings), Parikshan Paswan (Mithila Paintings).

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/government-honored-40-artists-of-bihar