

## Parakram Diwas 2024

**For Prelims:** Parakram Diwas, Bharat Parv, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar-2024, Vivekananda's teachings.

**For Mains:** Parakram Diwas 2024, Modern Indian history from about the middle of the eighteenth century until the present – significant events, personalities, and issues.

#### **Source: HT**

## Why in News?

Recently, the Prime Minister (PM) of India has participated in <u>Parakram Diwas (23<sup>rd</sup> January 2024)</u> **Celebrations** at Red Fort to mark the birth anniversary of **Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.** 

- The PM has also launched <u>Bharat Parv</u> (organised by the <u>Ministry of Tourism</u>), a nine-day event to showcase India's rich diversity and exhibit different cultures.
- On the Occasion of Parakram Diwas, the Centre has announced <u>Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar-</u>2024, to honor the invaluable contribution rendered by individuals and organisations in the field of Disaster Management.

## What is Parakram Diwas?

- Initiated in 2021, Parakram Diwas is an annual celebration in India commemorating the **birth** anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.
- The term "Parakram" translates to courage or valour in Hindi, reflecting the strong and courageous spirit of Netaji and those who fought for India's freedom.
- The celebrations typically include various events and activities that highlight the historical significance of Netaji's role in the freedom struggle.
- The comprehensive celebration is being organised by the Ministry of Culture in collaboration with its allied institutions such as the <u>Archaeological Survey of India</u>, National School of Drama, Sahitya Akademi, and the National Archives of India.
- As part of the program, the event will host a rich array of activities that delve into the profound legacy of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose and the Azad Hind Fauj.
  - Marking Netaji's 125<sup>th</sup> birth anniversary, in 2022, the hologram was installed, near India Gate, where a statue of King George V had stood till its removal in 1968.
    - Later the hologram of Netaji replaced by a grand statue on 8<sup>th</sup> September 2022 near India Gate in New Delhi.



## What is Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar?

#### Field Recognised:

 The Government of India instituted Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskaar (SCBAPP) to recognise the excellent work done by the individuals and institutions in the field of disaster management.

#### Administered By:

 National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA was established under the Ministry of Home Affairs under the Disaster Management Act, 2005).

#### Award:

- The awards are announced on the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose on 23<sup>rd</sup> January every year.
- In addition to a certificate, these awards carry a cash award of Rs. 51 lakhs for an Institution and Rs. 5 lakhs for an Individual.
- The Institution has to utilize the cash prize for Disaster Management related activities only.

## Eligibility:

- Only Indian nationals and Indian institutions can apply for the award.
- The nominated individual or institution should have worked in any area of disaster management like Prevention, Mitigation, Preparedness, Rescue, Response, Relief, Rehabilitation, Research, Innovation or early warning in India.
- SCBAPP- 2024: The 60 Parachute Field Hospital, Uttar Pradesh, has been selected for the Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar-2024 for its excellent work in disaster management, particularly in providing medical assistance during various natural calamities and crises, both nationally and internationally.
  - The hospital's work during events like the Uttarakhand floods (2013), Nepal

Earthquake (2015), and the Turkey and Syria earthquake (2023) is highlighted as examples of its exceptional service.

## **UPSC Civil Services Examination, Previous Year Question (PYQ)**

### Prelims:

# Q1. In the context of Colonial India, Shah Nawaz Khan, Prem Kumar Sehgal and Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon are remembered as (2021)

- (a) leaders of Swadeshi and Boycott Movement
- (b) members of the Interim Government in 1946
- (c) members of the Drafting Committee in the Constituent Assembly
- (d) officers of the Indian National Army

#### Ans: (d)

- Prem Kumar Sehgal, Shah Nawaz Khan and Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon were the second-tier commanders of the Indian National Army (INA). They underwent court-martial procedure by the British at Red Fort in 1945 and were sentenced to death. However, following the widespread protests and unrest in India, they had to be released.
- Therefore, option (d) is the correct answer.

# Q2. During the Indian Freedom Struggle, who of the following raised an army called 'Free Indian Legion'? (2008)

- (a) Lala Hardayal
- (b) Rashbehari Bose
- (c) Subhas Chandra Bose
- (d) V.D. Savarkar

### Ans: (c)

- The Free Indian Legion was an infantry regiment formed by Indian volunteers. The legion was made up of Indian prisoners of wars and expatriates in Europe.
- The Indian Independence leader, Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose formed this legion with the help of German Government to fight against the British.
- The legion is also known as "Tiger Legion".
- Therefore, option (c) is the correct answer.

#### Mains:

**Q.** Highlight the difference in the approach of Subhash Chandra Bose and Mahatma Gandhi in the struggle for freedom. **(2016)** 

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/parakram-diwas-2024