

Islands of Andaman and Nicobar Named After Four Param Vir Chakra Winners of Uttar Pradesh

Why In News?

On January 23, 2022, on the occasion of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose's birth anniversary (Parakram Diwas), Prime Minister Narendra Modi named 21 major unidentified islands of Andaman and Nicobar Islands after 21 winners of param Vir chakra, the largest military decoration in India. The list includes four Paramvir Chakra winners from Uttar Pradesh.

Key points

- Three of the four Param Vir Chakra winners from Uttar Pradesh Company Quarter Master Havildar Veer Abdul Hameed, Naik Jadunath Singh, Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey - have been awarded Param Vir Chakra posthumously and Honorary Captain Yogendra Singh Yadav while alive.
- Born in Dharampur village in Ghazipur district of Uttar Pradesh, Veer Abdul Hameed was commissioned into the Grenadiers Infantry Regiment on 27 December 1954 at the age of 21. In the fight with Pakistan, he destroyed three Panton tanks of Pakistan with his gun jeep. In response, the Pakistani army attacked them simultaneously. He was martyred in this attack. He was awarded the Param Vir Chakra on September 10, 1965, in recognition of his extraordinary contribution to the Indo-Pakistani War.
- Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey was born on 25 June 1975 in Rudha village of Sitapur district. He got elected to Indian Army from NDA. He was commissioned as a commissioned officer in the 1st Battalion of the 11 Gorkha Rifles Regiment. In the 1999 Kargil war, he destroyed enemy bunkers. Meanwhile, he was martyred at the age of just 24 due to a bullet in the head. He was posthumously awarded the Param Vir Chakra for his courage and leadership during the Kargil War in 1999.
- Jadunath Singh, a resident of village Khajuri in Kalan tehsil of Shahjahanpur district of Uttar Pradesh, was drafted into the British Indian Army in 1941. He participated in World War II fighting against Japan in Burma. While serving in the Rajput Regiment of the Indian Army, he participated in the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947. On February 6, 1948, in Nowshera sector of Jammu and Kashmir, Jadunath Singh single-handedly forced the Pakistani army soldiers in tribal disguise to retreat. During this fight, a bullet hit his head, due to which he attained martyrdom. Naik Jadunath Singh was also posthumously awarded the Param Vir Chakra.
- Honorary Captain Yogendra Singh Yadav was born on May 10, 1980, in Aurangabad village of Bulandshahr. In 1996, at the age of 16, he joined the 18 Grenadiers. He displayed indomitable courage and Vallor in the capture of Tiger Hill in the Kargil War in 1999. Capt. Yogendra Yadav captured the three outposts of Tiger Hill in wounded condition despite being hit by several bullets and hoisted the tricolour there. Yogendra Yadav, who completed this struggling mission, was awarded the Param Vir Chakra, the highest gallantry award of the Indian Army, at the age of just 19.
- It is noteworthy that keeping in view the historical importance of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and to pay respect to the memory of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, during his visit to Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the year 2018, the Prime Minister renamed the Ross Islands as 'Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island. Neil Island and Havelock Island were renamed as 'Shaheed Dweep' and 'Swaraj Dweep'.
- With a view to pay due respect to the real-life heroes of the country, it has been decided to name

- 21 large unexplored islands of the archipelago after the 21 Param Vir Chakra winners.
- The 21 Param Vir Chakra winners named after these islands are Major Somnath Sharma; Subedar and Honorary Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM; Second Lieutenant Ram Raghoba Rane; Naik Jadunath Singh; Company Havildar Major Piru Singh; Gurbachan Singh Salaria; Lieutenant Colonel (Then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa; Subedar Joginder Singh; Major Shaitan Singh; CQMH Abdul Hameed; Lt. Col. Ardeshir Burjorji Tarapore; Lance Naik Albert Ekka; Major Hoshiyar Singh; Second Lieutenant Arun Khetrapal; Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon; Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran; Naib Subedar Bana Singh; Captain Vikram Batra; Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey; Subedar Major (Then Rifleman) Sanjay Kumar; and Subedar Major Retd (Honorary Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/islands-of-andaman-and-nicobar-named-after-four-param-vir-chakra-winners-of-uttar-pradesh