

New Townships to be Established in Seven Cities including Ayodhya

Why In News?

On October 9, 2023, the state government gave permission to set up townships in the Housing Development Council cities along with Ayodhya, Meerut, Agra, Saharanpur, Varanasi, Moradabad and Kanpur.

Key points:

- For this, 'Chief Minister's Urban Expansion New City Promotion Scheme' has been started.
- All these development authorities and the Housing Development Council will be given Rs. 1680 crore under the Chief Minister Urban Expansion Scheme.
- The Development Authority and Housing Development Council will come up with a housing plan after acquiring the land.
- Under the scheme, the state government will bear 50 percent of the expenditure on land acquisition for the expansion of the developed township before the development of the new township for a maximum of 20 years. The remaining money will have to be raised by the development authority concerned itself.
- 400 crores to Housing Development Council, 400 crores to Varanasi Development Authority, 200 crores to Moradabad Development Authority, 200 crores to Kanpur Development Authority, 200 crores to Meerut Development Authority, 150 crores to Agra Development Authority, 100 crores to Saharanpur Development Authority and 30 crores to Ayodhya Development Authority will be allocated.





 $PDF\ Reference\ URL:\ https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/new-townships-to-be-established-in-seven-cities-including-ayodhya$

