

Bihar Legislative Council

Why in News?

On April 4, 2022, voting was held for the 24 seats of the Bihar Legislative Council.

Key Points

- Legislative council elections were postponed last year because rural local bodies, which account for about 97.56% of the total electorate, could not be reorganized due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Significantly, there are 75 seats in the Bihar Legislative Council, out of which 63 are elected members and 12 are nominated members.
- The term of a member of the Legislative Council (MLC) is six years, with one-third of the members retiring every two years.
 - The members of the Legislative Council are elected as follows:
 - One-third of the MLCs are elected by the state legislators.
 - In addition, 1/3 of the members are elected by local bodies, such as municipal and district boards, etc.
 - 1/12 members are elected by the people who have been teaching for 3 years.
 - 1/12 members are elected by graduates from 3 years residing in the state.
 - The remaining members are nominated by the Governor from amongst those who have special knowledge and practical experience of literature, knowledge, art, cooperative movement and social service.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/bihar-legislative-council-1