## Announcement of Chhattisgarh Master's Table Tennis Team

## Why in News?

On April 23, 2023, Chhattisgarh Veteran Table Tennis Committee announced the state team to participate in the 29th National Master's Table Tennis Championship starting in Jalandhar.

## Key points

- The 29<sup>th</sup> National Master's Table Tennis Championship is being held in Jalandhar from April 24 to 30.
- Chhattisgarh Olympic Association vice-president Sharad Shukla said that players have been selected in each category.
- The players of the announced team are:
  - Age Group 40: Male- Nikhil Bani (Raipur), Female- Shikha Khande Hussain (Bilaspur)
  - Age Group 50 (A): Men: Rajesh Agarwal, Captain (Raipur), Sanjay Laheja (Bilaspur), Suresh Shadija (Raipur), Ritesh Malhotra (Raipur)
  - **Age Group 50 (B):** Male- Arvind Kumar Sharma, Captain (Raipur Metropolitan), Giriraj Bagri (Raipur), Vidhandeep Mishra (Raipur), Vinay Kejriwal (Raipur Metropolitan).
  - **Age Group 60:** Men: Pawan Shadija, Captain (Raipur), Shane Stephen (Raipur), Sushant Borwankar (Raipur), K. Ravi Shankar (Bilaspur), J.M. Rathore (Raipur Metropolitan).
  - **Age Group 65:** Men: Pradeep Janwade, Captain (Raipur), R.N. Kelkar (Durg), A.N. Rao (Bilaspur)
  - **Age Group 65:** Women- Gauri Dey, Captain (Bilaspur), Ira Pant (Raipur), Sarbari Moitra (Bilaspur).
- The team is coached by Ravi Shankar (Bilaspur) and manager Arvind Kumar Sharma (Raipur Metropolitan). Ajit Banerjee (Raipur) and Jaya Sahu (Rajnandgaon) will be the umpires from the state.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/announcement-of-chhattisgarh-master-table-tennis-team