

Winners honored at the Closing Ceremony of Wrestling Competition in Gorakhpur

Why In News?

 On August 21, 2023, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath honored the winning players with Uttar Pradesh 'Kesari', Uttar Pradesh 'Kumar' and Uttar Pradesh 'Veer Abhimanyu' awards at the closing ceremony of the two-day wrestling competition organized in district Gorakhpur.

Key Points:

- The state government along with the sports lovers of Gorakhpur organized this wrestling competition and made it interesting with mass participation.
- Uttar Pradesh 'Kesari' award winner Jonty was given Rs 01 lakh 01 thousand and mace and runnerup Viresh Kundu was given Rs 51 thousand.
- Uttar Pradesh 'Kumar' award winner Saurabh Yaday was given Rs 51,000 and mace and runner-up Baghel Yaday was given Rs 25,000.
- Aditya Yadav, who won the Uttar Pradesh 'Veer Abhimanyu' award, was given Rs 51,000 and mace and runner-up Vineet was given Rs 25,000.
- Apart from these, volleyball player Yuvraj Pratap Singh, wrestler Saurabh Yadav and tennis ball player Aman Raj were also honored.
- The central and state governments have provided a platform for sports and sportspersons to showcase their talent through sporting events like 'Khelo India' and 'Sansad Khel Mahakumbh'.



PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/winners-honored-at-the-closing-ceremony-of-

wrestling-competition-in-gorakhpur

