

## **World Food Prize 2022**

## Why in News?

<u>World Food Prize</u> Foundation announced the name of **World Food Prize laureate 2022, Dr. Cynthia Rosenzweig of the United States**.

- Rosenzweig was selected for the award for her research to understand the relationship between climate and food systems and forecast how both will change in the future.
- In **2021** Leading nutrition expert **Dr. Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted** won the prize and in 2020 Indian-American soil scientist Dr. Rattan Lal won the prize.



## What is the World Food Prize?

- Objective:
  - The World Food Prize is the foremost international honor recognizing the achievements
    of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality,
    quantity or availability of food in the world.
- Field Covered:
  - It is an annual award that recognizes contributions in any field involved in the world food supply including plant, animal and soil science; food science and technology; nutrition, rural development, etc.
- Eligibility:
  - It is open to any individual without regard to race, religion, nationality or political beliefs.
- Cash Prize:
  - In addition to the cash award of USD 2,50,000, the laureate receives a sculpture designed by the noted artist and designer, Saul Bass.
- Presentation of the Award:
  - The Prize is presented each October on or around <u>UN World Food Day (16th October).</u>
  - It is presented by the World Food Prize Foundation which has over 80 companies,

individuals, etc. as donors.

• The World Food Prize Foundation is located in **Des Moines, USA**.

## Background:

- Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, winner of the <u>Nobel Peace Prize</u> in 1970 for his work in global agriculture, conceived the Prize.
  - He is also known as the Father of the <u>Green Revolution</u>.
- The World Food Prize was created in 1986 with sponsorship by General Foods Corporation.
- It is also known as the "Nobel Prize for Food and Agriculture".
- Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, the father of India's green revolution, was the first recipient of this award in 1987.

Source: TH

