

Posting of Collector & SP of Newly Formed Mauganj district

Why is News?

On August 13, 2023, the State Government of Madhya Pradesh has appointed Ajay Srivastava as the first District Magistrate (Collector) and Virendra Jain as the First Superintendent of Police (SP) of the newly formed district Mauganj.

Key Points:

- It is worth mentioning that Ajay Srivastava, a 2013 batch IAS officer, who was discharging government responsibilities in the post of Additional Commissioner, Tribal Development and Managing Director, Madhya Pradesh Scheduled Tribes Finance and Development Corporation Bhopal (Additional Charge), will now serve as the first Collector of the newly formed district.
- Earlier, the state government had issued an order to appoint Sonia Meena as district Mauganj Collector, which was later revoked.
- Similarly, Virendra Jain IPS (DD-96) has been transferred as Superintendent of Police (SP) of mauganj district. Virendra Jain is currently posted in the Senani 8th Corps Visbal in Chhindwara.
- It is known that on March 4, 2023, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan announced to make Mauganj a new district. Mauganj has officially become the 53rd district of Madhya Pradesh.
- Mauganj has been carved out of Rewa and its district headquarters will be located in Mauganj town. Also, the national flag will be hoisted at mauganj district headquarters on August 15.
- Mauganj district has been formed under sub-section of section 13 of the Madhya Pradesh Land Revenue Code, 1959 (No. 20 of 1959). A gazette has been published regarding this change.
- Initially, three tehsils of Rewa district Mauganj, Naigarhi and Hanumana will be part of Mauganj district. Later, Devtalab will also be included in it.



PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/posting-of-collector-sp-newly-formed-mauganjdistrict