

49th International Khajuraho Dance Festival-2023

Why in News?

On February 20, 2023, Khajuraho MP and BJP state president Vishnu Dutt Sharma inaugurated the sevenday 49th Khajuraho Dance Festival-2023 at the world famous tourist destination Khajuraho.

Key Points

- The 49th Khajuraho Dance Festival under Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav will continue till February 26 on the huge Muktakashi stage inside the Western Temple Group Complex between the Kandariya Mahadev Temple of Chandel period and Devi Jagdamba Temple.
- It is worth mentioning that the Department of Culture, Government of Madhya Pradesh organizes Khajuraho Dance Festival every year in the world heritage tourist city Khajuraho through Ustad Alauddin Khan Academy of Music and Arts, Madhya Pradesh Sanskriti Parishad, Bhopal.
- It is the country's premier festival focusing on Indian classical dance forms, which is renowned nationally and internationally. Famous artists of the country and the world present their dance performances in this ceremony.
- Khajuraho Dance Festival was started in 1975 and since then it has been successfully organized by Ustad Alauddin Khan Music and Arts Academy under the Department of Culture, Government of Madhya Pradesh. Since then, this dance ceremony has been held in the courtyard of well-known temples of Khajuraho.
- So far, young and senior artists of all the major classical dance styles of India like Bharatnatyam, Odissi, Kathak, Mohiniyattem, Kuchipudi, Kathakali, Yakshagana, Manipuri etc. have spread their aura in the Khajuraho Dance Festival.
- Through the festival, efforts have been made to innovate while maintaining the dignity of classical dance.
- At the inauguration of the festival, MP Vishnu Dutt Sharma also presented Madhya Pradesh State
 Rupankar Kala Puraskar 2023 to 10 artists.
 - The Devkrishna Jatashankar Joshi Award for the year 2022-23 in the State Rupankar Kala Puraskar has been given to Amit Kumar Sinha of Jabalpur for the artwork 'The Shining Maker'.
 - Mukund Sakharam Bhand Award to Ms. Samiksha Rathore of Bhopal for 'Shirshak Viheen',
 - Syed Haider Raza Award to Popil Manna of Bhopal for 'Depth of Fairnation'
 - Dattatray Damodar Devlalikar Award to Prem Kumar Singh of Dhar for 'Untitled 1'
 - Jagdish Swaminathan Award to Man Singh Vyam of Bhopal for 'Zindagi Ek Safar'
 - Vishnu Chinchalkar Award to Upendra Upadhyay of Indore for 'Semal Ki Bahar'
 - Narayan Shridhar Bendre Award to Om Prakash Mahour of Gwalior for 'Rango ka Bachpan'
 - Raghunath Krishnarao Phadke Award to Girish B. Urkude for 'Untitled 2',
 - Ram Manohar Sinha Award to Ms. Shivani Dubey of Bhopal for 'History 6'
 - Laxmishankar Rajput Award was presented to Ms. Anjali Raut of Jabalpur for 'Printed Queen 1' .
 - The artists were given a cash prize of Rs 51,000 and certificates. The award winning works
 of all the artists will be displayed in the State Rupankar Kala Puraskar exhibition.

