

## Andaman and Nicobar Island Named after Paramveer Chakra Winner Shaitan Singh of Rajasthan

## Why In News?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi named 21 large uncharted islands of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands after the 21 winners of the Param Vir Chakra, the highest military decoration in India, on Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose's birth anniversary (Valour Day) on January 23, 2022. The name of Param Vim Chakra winner Major Shaitan Singh of Rajasthan is also included in this list.

## **Key points**

- Born on December 1, 1924, in Jodhpur, Shaitan Singh's father Hem Singh Bhati was a lieutenant colonel in the Indian Army. With the spirit of bravery and patriotism inherited from his father, this brave soldier of Jodhpur State Force joined the Kumaon Regiment on August 1, 1949. In 1962, Shaitan Singh was promoted and appointed Major.
- On November 18, 1962, in the Chushul Valley of Ladakh in the Sino-Indian War, Major Shaitan Singh, leading a contingent of about 120 soldiers of the 13 Kumaon Regiment, took the front in Rezang La and killed 1300 Chinese soldiers on his own with his contingent. Was dropped
- It is said about them that this brave son fought the enemy army by tying the machine gun to the feet with a rope. In the end, he became immortal forever by making his supreme sacrifice.
- Three months later in that snow-covered area, Major Shaitan Singh's body was found at the same spot behind Shilakhand, which was taken to Jodhpur and cremated with full military honours. Major Shaitan Singh was awarded the Param Vir Chakra, the highest wartime gallantry medal, for his indomitable courage, leadership and exemplary dedication to duty.
- Keeping in mind the historical importance of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and to pay tribute to the memory of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose2018, the Prime Minister had renamed the Ross Islands as 'Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Island' during his visit to Andaman and Nicobar Islands in. Neil Island and Havelock Island were renamed as 'Shaheed Island' and 'Swaraj Island'.
- With an aim to give due respect to the real-life heroes of the country, it has been decided to name 21 major unknown islands of the archipelago after 21 Param Vir Chakra winners.
- The first large unknown island is named after the first Param Vir Chakra winner, the second large unknown island is named after the second Param Vir Chakra winner and so are the undiscovered islands.
- The 21 Param Vir Chakra winners named after these islands are Major Somnath Sharma; Subedar and Honorary Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM; Second Lieutenant Ram Raghoba Rane; Naik Jadunath Singh; Company Havildar Major Piru Singh; Capt GS Salaria; Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa; Subedar Joginder Singh; Major Shaitan Singh; CQMH Abdul Hameed; Lt. Col. Ardeshir Burjorji Tarapore; Lance Naik Albert Ekka; Major Hoshiar Singh; Second Lieutenant Arun Khetrapal; Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon; Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran; Naib Subedar Bana Singh; Captain Vikram Batra; Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey; Subedar Major (then Rifleman) Sanjay Kumar; and Subedar Major Retd (Honorary Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yaday

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/andaman-and-nicobar-island-named-after-paramveer-chakra-winner-shaitan-singh-of-rajasthan

