

Shatrujit Kapoor became the new DGP of Haryana

Why is News?

According to information received from the media on August 16, 2023, Shatrujit Kapoor has become the new DGP of Haryana. He reached the police headquarters in Sector 6, Panchkula and took charge. He will remain in this post for 2 years.

Key Points:

- It is worth mentioning that Shatrujit Kapoor is a 1990 batch IPS. He has replaced P.K. Aggarwal, who retired on August 15.
- Apart from Shatrujit Kapoor, R.C. Mishra and Md. Aqueel were also in the race for the post of DGP, but they got the post as per the choice of the state government.
- It is known that in the panel meeting by UPSC on August 10, 3 names were approved for DGP, in which the names of Shatrujit Kapoor, Mohammad Aqueel and R.C. Mishra were approved for DGP.
- It is worth mentioning that after P.K. Aggarwal who retired in Haryana's DGP panel, the senior most is 1989 batch IPS officer Mohammad Aqueel. He is currently in charge of DG Jail. He will retire on December 31, 2025.
- RC Mishra is a 1990 batch IPS officer at number two. He currently holds the command of the Police Housing Corporation. He will retire in June 2024.
- Shatrujit Kapoor is the third senior 1990 batch IPS who is the DG of Anti Corruption Bureau (ACB). He will retire on October 31, 2026.



PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/shatrujit-kapoor-became-the-new-dgp-of-haryana

