

President Draupadi Murmu Confers Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards to 27 Overseas Indians

Why In News?

 January 10, 2023 The President Draupadi Murmu concluded the three-day 17th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention at Brilliant Convention Centre Indore. He gave away Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards to 27 Overseas Indians for their outstanding work in their respective fields.

Key Points

- President of Guyana Dr. Mohammad Irfan Ali and President of Suriname Chandrika Prasad Santokhi were specially present at the event.
- President Murmu said the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman is the country's highest honour given to overseas Indians. It showcases his work and contribution to India and other countries.
- Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said that NRIS have also planted saplings in Namo Global Park here. Guests have been given QR codes, in which they will be able to get information about the maintenance of the planted plant.
- Overseas Indians who received the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award are:
 - Community Welfare Dr. Mohammad Irfan Ali (President, Guyana), Dr. Kannan Ambalam (Ethiopia), Ms. Reena Vinod Pushkarna (Israel), Parmanand Sukhumal Daswani (Congo), Mohanlal Hira (South Africa), Sivakumar Nadesan (Sri Lanka), Dr. Dev Chandrabhos Sharma (Suriname).
 - Community Welfare and Medicine Dr. Amal Kumar Mukhopadhyay (Germany), Dr. Alexander John (Brunei).
 - Community Welfare and Business- Amit Kailashchandra Lath (Poland), Sanjay Kumar Shiv bhai Patel (South Sudan), Dr Darshan Singh Dhaliwal (USA), Siddharth Balachandran (UAE).
 - Science, Technology and Education Professor Jagdish Chandrapati (Australia), Dr Archana Sharma (Switzerland).
 - Education- Sanjeev Mehta (Bhutan), Ms. Maqsooda Shiotani Sarfi (Japan), Dr. Rajagopal (Mexico).
 - Education and Community Welfare Justice Frank Arthur Seepersad (Trinidad and Tobago).
 - Art and Culture: Dilip Lundo (Brazil), Dr. Vaikuntam Iyer Lakshmanan (Canada), Dr. Joginder Singh Nijjar (Croatia).
 - Information Technology- Professor Ramji Prasad (Denmark).
 - Business: Piyush Gupta (Singapore), Ashok Tiwari (Uzbekistan).
 - Media- Chandrakant Patel (United Kingdom).