

Nayab Singh Saini is Haryana's new Chief Minister | Haryana | 14 Mar 2024

Why in News?

Recently, **Nayab Singh Saini**, was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Haryana after Manohar Lal and his Council of Ministers resigned as the strained ruling **coalition** of the **Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)** and the **Jannayak Janta Party (JJP)** broke apart.

Key Points

- The new Chief Minister inducted five MLAs, including an independent, into the Cabinet.
- Governor Bandaru Dattatreya administered the oath of office and secrecy to all of them.
- The MLAs include Kanwar Pal, Mool Chand, Banwari Lal, Jai Parkash Dalal all from the BJP and Ranjit Singh (Independent).

Coalition Government

- The term 'coalition' is derived from the Latin world 'coalitio' which means 'to grow together'.
- Thus, technically, coalition means the act of uniting parts into one body or whole. Politically, coalition means an alliance of distinct political parties.
- Coalition usually occurs in modern parliaments when no single political party can muster a majority of votes.
- Two or more parties, who have enough elected members between them to form a majority, may then be able to agree on a common programme that does not require too many drastic compromises with their individual policies and can proceed to form a government.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/19-03-2024/haryana/print