

CM Virtually Inaugurated 13 New Subdivisions and 18 New Tehsils

Why is News?

On August 20, 2023, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel virtually inaugurated the newly formed 13 revenue subdivisions and 18 tehsils at Mahasamund's high school ground on the occasion of 'Harmony Day', the birth anniversary of former Prime Minister Bharat Ratna late Rajiv Gandhi.

Key Points:

- With the introduction of these new tehsils and subdivisions, there are now 122 revenue subdivisions and 250 tehsils in the state.
- It is noteworthy that Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel has been announcing formation of new districts, subdivisions and tehsils in the state in the last five and a quarter years with the aim of bringing governance closer to the general public, bringing transparency and tightening in administrative work.
- In the year 2018, the number of districts in the state was 27. After the formation of Gorela-Pendra-Marwahi, Sakti, Saranggarh-Bilaigarh, Mohla-Manpur-Chowki, Khairagarh-Chhuikhadan-Gandai, Manendragarh-Chirmiri-Bharatpur districts, the number of districts in the state has increased to 33.
- Similarly, the Chief Minister recently announced the formation of 13 new subdivisions and 18 new tehsils in the state, which will be formally inaugurated on 20 August. Establishment of new subdivisions and tehsils will facilitate smooth implementation of government schemes and tightening of administrative work. Schemes and basic facilities of the government will be easily available to the general public.
- In the year 2023, 13 new subdivisions, Bakwand under District Bastar, Subdivision Chhindgarh under District Sukma, Subdivision Ramanujnagar under District Surajpur, Subdivision Daundi under District Balod, Subdivision Farsabhar under District Jashpur, Subdivision Palari under District Balodabazar-Bhatapara, Subdivision Chhura under District Gariaband, Sub-division Usoor (Awapalli) under district Bijapur, sub-division Basna under district Mahsamund, sub-division Lundra (Dhaurpur) and sub-division Udaipur under district Surguja, subdivision Kelhari under district Manendragarh-Chirmiri-Bharatpur and subdivision Shankargarh under district Balrampur-Ramanujnagar have been formed.
- Newly formed 18 tehsils In the year 2023, 18 new Tehsil Kapu under District Raigarh, Tehsil Bhatgaon under District Surajpur, Tehsil Kukdur under District Kabirdham, Tehsil Karpavand under District Bastar, Tehsil Dornapal and Tehsil Jagargunda under District Sukma, Tehsil Ghumka and Tehsil Kumarda under District Rajnandgaon, District Bilaspur Tehsil Pachpedi, Tehsil Bagbahar under District Jashpur, Tehsil Bande under District Kanker, Tehsil Amabeda and Tehsil Koylibeda, Tehsil Chandrapur under District Sakti, Tehsil Fingeshwar under District Gariaband, Tehsil Beard under District Bemetara, Tehsil Bhotia under District Sakti and Tehsil Bhotia under District Sakti. Tehsil Sarsiwa has been formed.



PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/cm-virtually-inaugurated-13-new-subdivisions-and-18-new-tehsils