

## **All India Hockey Competition**

## Why in News

On March 1, 2022, Chhattisgarh's Forest and Climate Change Minister Mohammad Akbar inaugurated the All India Hockey Tournament at BR Yadav Astroturf Hockey Ground, Bahtrai Stadium in Bilaspur district.

## **Key Points**

- A total of thirty teams including 16 teams of men's section and 14 teams of women's section are participating in this tournament from different states.
- Men's teams from Haryana, Delhi, Mumbai, Rourkela, Rohtak, Prayagraj, Sonepat, Bangalore etc. are participating in this tournament. Similarly, women hockey players from Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Nagpur, Meerut, Gwalior and Haryana are participating.
- The first opening match of the tournament was played between Sufia Sporting Club Amravati and District Hockey Association Bilaspur in men's category.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/all-india-hockey-competition