

44 Policemen received the President's Police Medal & Service Medal

Why is News?

On the occasion of Independence Day on August 15, 2023, Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren presented the President's Police Medal & Service Medal for Gallantry to 44 police officers & personnel of the state at a ceremony held at Morhabadi in the capital Ranchi.

Key Points:

- These 44 police officers have been awarded the President's Medal for Gallantry, Distinguished Service and Meritorious Service.
- All these medals, which were earlier given by the President on the occasion of Republic Day celebrations, have now been distributed.
- Officers who have received the President's Police Medal are:
- Manish Chandra Lal (SDPO Gumla), Suresh Ram (Inspector, ACB), Rohit Kumar Rajak (Constable, Hazaribagh), Hiralal Thakur (Constable, Hazaribagh), Aniruddha Kumar Ojha (Constable, Hazaribagh) and Yashwant Mahto (Constable, Hazaribagh) for the year 2021, Hazaribagh) are included.
- For the year 2022, Rishabh Kumar Jha (currently SP Rail Jamshedpur, then SDPO Torpa) and CRPF Deputy Commandant Anurag Raj (then ASP Campaign, Khunti) are included.
- President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service:
- Paras Nath Ojha (ATS, Ranchi)
- Police Medal for Meritorious Service:
- For the year 2021, Saket Kumar Singh (then IG Operations Jharkhand Police, currently on central deputation), Kailash Prasad (Constable, IRB-5 Gumla), Driver Constable Satyendra Nath (STF, Ranchi), Constable Ramjanam Prasad (JAPTC, Padma) are included.
- Apart from these, Havildar Til Prasad Jayasi (ZAP-1, Ranchi), ASI Manoj Kumar Das (Bokaro), ASI Sunil Kumar Rai (Latehar), Havildar Nandji Yadav (STF, Ranchi), DSP Sanchaman Tamang (Special Branch), Inspector Imtiyaz Ahsan (ACB Ranchi) are also included.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/44-policemen-received-the-president-police-medal-service-medal