

Chief Minister Inaugurated 06 New police Stations and 20 Police Posts

Why In News?

On February 13, 2023, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami virtually inaugurated 06 new police stations and 20 police outposts in the state from the Secretariat.

Key points

- These six police stations comprise 661 grams and 20 outposts comprise 696 grams. These areas were earlier under the revenue police, now regular police arrangements have been made in them.
- The six new police stations inaugurated include Police Station Yamkeshwar in Pauri, Police Station Chham in Tehri, Thana Ghat in Chamoli, Police Station Khansyun in Nainital and Police Station Deghat and Dhaulchhina in Almora.
- The 20 new outposts include Lakhamandal in Dehradun, Birokhal in Pauri, Gaja, Kandikhal and Chamiala in Tehri, Nauti, Narayanbagh and Urgam in Chamoli, Chowpata and Durgadhar in Rudraprayag, Sankri and Dhauntri in Uttarkashi, Aukhalkanda in Nainital, Dhanachuli, Hedakhal and Dhari, Majkhali, Jageshwar and Bhaunkhal in Almora and Barakot in Champawat.
- Speaking on the occasion, Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami said that with the development and changes in the arrangements, regular police arrangements are being made in a phased manner in the areas of the state where regular police are needed in place of revenue police.
- The Chief Minister said that by 2025, the Uttarakhand Police would have to work continuously to make Uttarakhand a drug-free state, along with a cleanliness campaign, and other works of social concern.
- Significantly, the police system is a mirror of the law and order of the state. The police have a big responsibility to maintain security and law and order.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/chief-minister-inaugurated-06-new-police-stations-and-20-police-posts