

## Patna Legal Services Committee Reconstituted, Kishore Kunal and Sudha Varghese made members

## Why In News?

On October 6, 2023, the Legal Services Committee was reconstituted under the chairmanship of Justice Vipul M. Pancholi of Patna High Court. Three non-ex officio members including Acharya Kishore Kunal have been appointed in this eight-member committee.

## **Key Points:**

- Former IPS officer and Mahavir Mandir Trust secretary Acharya Kishore is among the three non-ex
  officio members nominated by the Chief Justice of Patna High Court. The other two members
  include social worker Sudha Varghese and retired district judge Om Prakash.
- There will be a total of three ex-officio members in the committee including the Advocate General. Two other ex-officio members include Patna High Court Advocate Association President Shailendra Kumar Singh and Patna High Court Bar Association President Sanjay Singh.
- The tenure of the members will be two years. The committee will have a total of 8 members including the Chairman and Member Secretary.
- The committee prepares a panel of advocates of the Patna High Court. The services of the advocates of this panel are provided free of cost to those needy who are unable to fight legal battles due to poverty.



