

48th Khajuraho Dance Festival-2022

Why in News

On February 20, 2022, Madhya Pradesh Governor Mangu Bhai Patel inaugurated the 48th 'Khajuraho Dance Festival-2022' at world famous tourist destination Khajuraho on the occasion of 'Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav'. The event will be organized till 26 February.

Key Points

- The Khajuraho dance festival was started in 1975 from the temple premises itself. It was not allowed to be performed in the temple premises only after two-three years, as a result this ceremony was performed outside the temple premises. Last year, the Culture Department's effort to organize this program in the temple premises was successful and this year also this function is being done in the temple premises itself.
- This year a 5-km 'Dil Khel Ke Ghoomo' marathon was also organized under the banner of 'Safe Tourism Project for Women' at the event. It aims to create a sense of security among women in tourist destinations with the slogan 'Hindustan Ke Dil Mein Aap Safe Hain'.
- Culture and Tourism Minister Usha Thakur announced that in view of the greatness of dance and its contribution in human life, a center of classical dance would be established in Khajuraho.
- Ambassadors and High Commissioners of 8 countries attended the family function to witness the performances of the 48th Khajuraho Dance Festival. These include ambassadors and high commissioners from Korea, Argentina, Vietnam, Brunei, Finland, Malaysia, Thailand and Lao.
- In the ceremony, Sunayana Hazari Lal was awarded the National Kalidas Samman for the year 2019-20 and Shanta and VP Dhananjayan for the year 2020-21. They were presented a prize money of Rs 2 lakh, a plaque, a shawl and a quince.
- Along with this, State Rupankar Kala Puraskars were given for the year 2022, which are as follows-

Award	Winner
Devkrishna Jata Shankar Joshi Award	Priya Sisodia (Badnawar)
Mukund Sakharam Bhand Award	Swapan Tarafdar (Indore)
Syed Haider Raza Award	Durgesh Birthare (Jabalpur)
Dattatreya Damodar Devlalikar Award	Narendra Jatav (Ashoknagar)
Jagdish Swaminathan Award	Sanjay Dhawale (Ashoknagar)
Vishnu Chinchalkar Award	Muni Sharma (Gwalior)
Narayan Shridhar Bendre Award	Agnesh Kerketta (Bhopal)
Raghunath Krishna Rao Phadke Award	Rituraj Srivastava (Jabalpur)
Ram Manohar Sinha Award	Jyoti Singh (Sagar)
Laxmi Shankar Rajput Award	Dr. Sonali Pithawe Chouhan (Dewas)

■ This dance festival is being organized with the joint effort of Ustad Alauddin Khan Sangeet and Kala Akademi Madhya Pradesh Sanskriti Parishad of Culture Department, Madhya Pradesh Tourism Board, Archaeological Survey of India and District Administration Chhatarpur. It is the topmost festival of the country focusing on Indian classical dance forms, and is well known nationally and internationally.

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/48th-khajuraho-dance-festival-2022

