

Conference of Interaction & Confidence Building Measures (CICA)

Why in News?

Recently, the Minister of State for External Affairs addressed the 6th Summit of Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA) in Astana, Kazakhstan.

 India is one of the founding members of Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA).

What is CICA?

- The CICA is an intergovernmental forum aimed at strengthening regional cooperation and ensuring peace, security, and stability in Asia.
- The idea of creating the organization was first voiced by Kazakhstan's First President Nursultan Nazarbayev in 1992 at the 47th session of the <u>United Nations General Assembly</u>, while the first CICA summit was held in June of 2002.
- The highest decision-making organ of CICA is the Meeting of the CICA Heads of State and Government (Summit). The CICA Summit is convened every four years in order to conduct consultations, review the progress of, and set priorities for CICA activities.
 - The Meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs is required to be held every two years.
- CICA members include 27 Asian countries, including Azerbaijan, Bahrain, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Russia, South Korea, and Turkey, nine observer states, and five international organizations.
- India co-chairs two CICA CBMs (Confidence Building Measures) on 'Development of Secure and Effective Systems of Transportation Corridors,' and 'Energy Security'.
- The CICA Secretariat has been located in Almaty (Kazakhstan) since June 2006.

Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA)

- A multinational forum for enhancing cooperation towards promoting peace, security and stability in Asia
- Proposed by Nursultan Nazarbayev, Kazakhstan's first president, at the 47th Session of the
 United Nations General Assembly on October 5, 1992

Member states (27):

- Afghanistan
- Egypt
- Kazakhstan
- Republic of Korea

- Azerbaijan
- India
- Kyrgyzstan
- Russian Federation

- Bahrain
- Iran
- Mongolia
- Sri Lanka

- Bangladesh
- Iraq
- Pakistan
- Tajikistan

- Cambodia
- Israel
- Palestine

Vietnam

Thailand

- China
- Jordan
- Qatar
- Turkey

- United Arab Emirates
- Uzbekistan

Summits:



Source: TH

