

## President's Vishisht Seva Medal to Two Bihar Police Personnel and Meritorious Police Service Medal For 17

## Why In News?

According to information received from the media on January 26, 2023, two personnel of Bihar Police have received The President's Distinguished Service Medal and 17 have received the Meritorious Police Service Medal. The Union Home Ministry has issued a notification in this regard.

## **Key points**

- This is the third year in a row that no one has received the Police Gallantry Medal from here.
- The recipients of the Vishisht Seva Medal include **Vinay Kumar Sharma**, **SDPO of Neemchak Bathani** in Gaya district, and Inspector Vinay Krishna of the Economic Offences Unit (EOU).
- Apart from this, 17 personnel from IG to Havaldar have been awarded the Meritorious Police Service Medal. These include IG (Headquarters) Vinay Kumar and others.
- The list of recipients of this medal includes the largest number of CID and Dumraon-based BSAP (Bihar Special Armed Police) personnel.
- These 17 received meritorious police service medals
  - Vinay Kumar, IG (Headquarters), Police Headquarters, Bihar
  - · Alamnath Bhuiya, Havaldar, Kishanganj
  - · Awadhesh Kumar Singh, Havaldar, B-SAP 4, Dumraon, Buxar
  - Akshay bar Nath Pandey, Constable, BSAP Headquarters, Patna
  - Sanjay Kumar Shekhar, ASI, ATS, Patna
  - Santosh Kumar Dixit, ASI, CID, Patna
  - · Alok Kumar, Constable, SCRB, Patna
  - Devendra Kumar, ASI, CID, Patna
  - Dharamraj Sharma, Constable, Police Headquarters
  - Dhananjay Kumar, Constable 107, CID, Patna
  - · Baijnath Kumar, Constable, Kishanganj
  - Sanjay Kumar, Constable 69, CID, Patna
  - Mukhtar Ali, Constable 217, CID, Patna
  - Boas Aind, Havaldar, BSAP 4, Dumraon, Buxar
  - Panchratna Prasad Gond, Havaldar, BSAP 4 Dumraon
  - Sikandar Kumar, Havaldar, BSAP 4, Dumraon
  - Satyendra Kumar, Havaldar, BSAP 4 Dumraon
- Vinay Kumar Sharma, who was awarded Vishisht Seva Medal, is currently posted as SDPO in Neemchak Bathani subdivision of Gaya district. He has been awarded this medal for his outstanding performance during his 28 years of service. Earlier, 2017the Meritorious Police Service Medal in 2018 and the Internal Security Medal in, the Bravery Award in 2019 for outstanding work in the field of Naxalism have been awarded.

