Announcement of Prestigious Honors of the Department of Culture

Why In News

On November 24, 2021, Madhya Pradesh Culture Department has awarded National Kabir Samman, Kalidas Samman, Ashok Kumar Samman, Lata Mangeshkar Samman, Maithilisharan Gupta Samman, Iqbal Samman, Sharad Joshi Samman, Nanaji Deshmukh Samman, Kumar Gandharva Samman for the year 2019 and 2020.

Key Points

- Madhya Pradesh Tourism, Culture and Spirituality Minister Usha Thakur said that the Madhya Pradesh government is reputed in the country for honoring excellence, creativity and multifarious contribution in the multi-faceted fields of literature, culture, cinema, social harmony, harmony etc.
- At present, 23 national and 9 state honors are conferred by the Department of Culture in the field of multidisciplinary disciplines.
- For the year 2019 and 2020, the announced honor, honor amount and recommended institution / litterateur / writer / artist are-
 - National Kabir Samman (Rs 3 lakh) Dr. Binay Rajaram (Bhopal) and Manoj Srivastava (Bhopal)
 - Kalidas Samman (Classical Music) (Rs 2 lakh) Pt. Abhay Narayan Malik (Noida) and Pt. Bhajan Sopori (Delhi)
 - Kalidas Samman (Classical Dance) (Rs 2 lakh) Sunaina Hazarilal (Mumbai) and Shanta-V.P. Dhananjayan (Chennai)
 - Kalidas Samman (Rupankar Arts) (Rs 2 lakh) Paramjit Singh (Delhi) and Dhruv Mistry (Baroda)
 - Kalidas Samman (Range Karma) (Rs 2 lakh) Dr. Anil Rastogi (Lucknow) and Vaman Kendra (Mumbai)
 - Maithilisharan Gupt Samman (Rs 2 lakh) Dr. Shivkumar Tiwari (Jabalpur) and Dr. Satchidanand Joshi (New Delhi)
 - Kishore Kumar Samman (Rs 2 lakh) Ashok Mishra (Mumbai) and Amitabh Bhattacharya (Mumbai)
 - Lata Mangeshkar Samman (Rs 2 lakh) Shailendra Singh (Mumbai) and Anand-Milind (Mumbai)
 - Iqbal Samman (Rs 2 lakh) Zakia Mashadi (Patna) and Prof. Ali Ahmed Fatmi (Prayagraj)
 - Sharad Joshi Samman (Rs 2 lakh) Kailash Mandlekar (Harda) and Vijay Manohar Tiwari (Bhopal)
 - Nanaji Deshmukh Samman (Rs 2 lakh) Narmada (Khargone) and Gaumukhi Seva Dham (Korba)
 - Kumar Gandharva Samman (Rs 1.25 lakh) Meeta Pandit (Delhi) and Suchismita-Debopriya (Thane, Maharashtra)
 - Shikhar Samman (Hindi Literature) (Rs 1 lakh) Shawal Satyarthi (Gwalior) and Hari Joshi (Bhopal)
 - Shikhar Samman (Urdu Literature) (Rs 1 lakh) Naeem Kausar (Bhopal) and Devi Sharan (Bhopal)

- Shikhar Samman (Sanskrit Literature) (Rs. 1 lakh) Prof. Rameshwar Prasar Gupta (Datia) and Prof. Rash Behari Dwivedi (Jabalpur)
- Shikhar Samman (Drama) (Rs 1 lakh) Vaishali Gupta (Bhopal) and K.G. Trivedi (Bhopal)
- Shikhar Samman (Dance) (Rs 1 lakh) Chandramadhav Barik (Bhopal) and Alpana Vajpayee (Bhopal)
- Shikhar Samman (Music) (Rs 1 lakh) Pt. Prabhakar Laxman Gohadkar (Gwalior) and Pt.
 Sajjan Lal Bramhabhte (Bhopal)
- Shikhar Samman (Tribal and Folk Arts) (Rs 1 lakh) Agnesh Kerketa (Bhopal) and Poornima Chaturvedi (Bhopal)

The Vision

• Shikhar Samman (rare instrument) (Rs. 1 lakh) - Babulal Bhola (Sagar) and Dr. Varsha Agarwal (Indore)

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/announcement-of-prestigious-honors-of-the-department-of-culture