

## Yogi Adityanath Became the Longest Serving Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh | Uttar Pradesh | 02 Mar 2023

## Why In News?

On March 1, 2023, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath set a record for completing the longest tenure as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. Yogi Adityanath completed 5 years and 347 days in office leaving behind Congress's Dr. Sampurnanand, who was the Chief Minister of the state for 5 years and 345 days from 1954 to 1960.

## **Key points**

- It is known that Yogi Adityanath was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the first time on March 19, 2017. After this, he took oath as the Chief Minister for the second time on March 25, 2022. Prior to this, he was elected MP from Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat.
- SP chief Akhilesh Yadav was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for 5 consecutive years and 4 days. BSP chief Mayawati has been the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh continuously for 4 years 307 days. Mayawati has become the Chief Minister of the state four times. Mulayam Singh Yadav was the Chief Minister for three consecutive years and 257 days.
- Significantly, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is among the leaders in Uttar Pradesh under whose leadership a single party has formed the government for the second consecutive time. In the 2022 assembly elections, the BJP again came to power with an absolute majority for the second consecutive time and he became the Chief Minister again.
- Yogi Adityanath is the first BJP Chief Minister to hold power in Uttar Pradesh for five consecutive years. Prior to this, no BJP leader has been the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for five consecutive years. Apart from Yogi Adityanath, Govind Ballabh Pant, Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav have been chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh for five consecutive years. No other leader could complete his fiveyear term.
- Yogi Adityanath is the second Chief Minister after Congress' Narayan Dutt Tiwari, under whose leadership a single party has formed the government for the second time in the state. 37 years ago, Narayan Dutt Tiwari again formed his government.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/03-03-2023/uttar-pradesh/print