

Gorakhpur Airport will be Expanded | Uttar Pradesh | 25 Jan 2023

Why In News?

On January 24, 2023, Gorakhpur District Magistrate Krishna Karunesh said that on the initiative of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, the Ministry of Defence has approved the expansion of Gorakhpur Airport, for which the Ministry has 42.14 acres of land for the airport along with providing allocated Rs 76.66 crore.

Key points

- Gorakhpur District Magistrate Krishna Karunesh said that with the expansion of the airport, the number of parking lanes will be 10 instead of two. At the same time, parking of vehicles will also start inside the airport premises. Currently there are 10 daily flights available from Gorakhpur to Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Prayagraj.
- After the expansion of the airport, flights will start for many other important cities including Chennai, Bangalore, Varanasi.
- It is known that the 43.14 acres of land located in the Gorakhpur Air Force Station premises, which
 has been handed over to the Gorakhpur Airport, is mentioned in the revenue document in the
 name of the Ministry of Defence. The district administration had sent the state government's
 proposal to the Ministry of Defence for the transfer of this land.
- Director of Gorakhpur Airport, Anil Kumar Dwivedi said that with the expansion of the airport, the number of aircraft will not only increase, but the capacity of passengers will also increase. With its expansion, direct flight services will start for many more cities.

Talents of the State Honored with Laxman and Rani Laxmibai Award on Uttar Pradesh Day | Uttar Pradesh | 25 Jan 2023

Why In News?

24On January 2023, on the inauguration of Uttar Pradesh Day celebrations, the Governor and The Chief Minister honored the talents of the state with Laxman and Laxmibai Awards for their achievements in sports.

Key points

- On Uttar Pradesh Day celebrations, Laxman Award, Rani Laxmibai Award, Commonwealth Award winners were honored and Vivekananda Youth Award was given to 16 people.
- Under the Mati Kala Board Khadi Village Industries, six people were also given awards at the hands of the Chief Minister and the Governor.
- the Rani Laxmibai talents who have been awarded Among the 12 Laxman Award are Lucknowbased handball players Mohit Yadav and Kanpur Nagar's Jyoti Shukla and Lucknow-based para-

badminton player Suhas L.Y.

- Apart from this, 28 players who won medals and participated in the Commonwealth Games held in Birmingham, UK from July 14 to August 8 last year were also rewarded. The silver medal winners were given cheques worth Rs 75 lakh, bronze medallists Rs 50 lakh and participants Rs 5 lakh.
- In the individual category, 10 youth and 6 Mangal Dal category (male and female) were awarded the Chief Minister's State Level Vivekananda Youth Award 2021-22. These include Amarendra Kumar and Rohit Kumar Kashyap of Lucknow.
- Youth Mangal Dal (Chairman Shravan Kumar) of Sonari Gram Panchayat of Bhadar Development Block of Amethi, Youth Mangal Dal of Tarauli Gram Panchayat of Gangeshwari Development Block of Amroha for the first-second and third prize under the collective category. (Chairman Nitesh Nagar), Yuvak Mangal Dal (Chairman Jeet Narayan) of Biharojpur Gram Panchayat of Digh development block of Bhadohi was selected.
- Mahila Mangal Dal (Chairman Komal) of Neeli khedi Gram Panchayat of Dhanaura Development Block of Amroha, Mahila Mangal Dal (Chairman Pallavi) of Sadipur Gram Panchayat of Musafirkhana Development Block of Amethi, Tekari Sahan Gram Panchayat of Deh Development Block of Rae Bareilly Mahila Mangal Dal (Chairman Asha) was selected.
- List of sportspersons to be honoured -
 - Rani Laxmibai Award
 - General Category: Jyoti Shukla (Kanpur, Handball), Neha Kashyap (Meerut, Wushu)
 - Year 2020-21 Veteran Category: Taruna Sharma (Meerut, Judo)
 - Year 2021-22 General Category: Manisha Bhati (Gautam Budh Nagar, Wushu)
 - Laxman Award
 - Year 2020-21 General Category: Mohit Yadav (Lucknow)
 - Year 2020-21 Veteran category: Rahul Singh (Varanasi, Hockey), Janardan Singh (Ghazipur, Wrestling)
 - **Year 2021-22 Veteran Category**: Md. Arif (Gorakhpur, Hockey), Radheshyam Singh (Azamgarh, Athletics)
 - Year 2021-22 Divyangjan Category: Suhas LY (Para Badminton, Lucknow), Vivek Chikara (Meerut, Archery), Deependra Singh (Sambhal Shooting).

PDF Refernece URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/statepcs/26-01-2023/uttar-pradesh/print