

Uttarakhand Gaurav Award

Why In News?

On November 6, 2022, In-charge Secretary Secretariat Administration, Uttarakhand Vinod Kumar Suman informed that the state government has announced the Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman Puraskar 2022. In this, five personalities have been selected for the award for outstanding contribution in five different fields. Three of them have been posthumously selected for the award.

Key Points

- Vinod Kumar Suman said that the Country's National Security Advisor Ajit Kumar Doval, Film Censor Board of India Chairman Prasoon Joshi will be given this award.
- Former Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat, poet, writer and lyricist. Girish Chandra Tiwari and late in the field of literature and journalism. Viren Dangwal has been posthumously selected for the award.
- According to the secretary-in-charge, the date, place and time of awarding the Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman will be released separately later.
- It is worth mentioning that last year for Uttarakhand Gaurav Samman, Dr. Anil Joshi in the field of environment, Bachendri Pal for adventure sports, Narendra Singh Negi, folk singer for culture, Ruskin Bond in the field of literature was announced. While former Chief Minister Late Narayan Dutt Tiwari was posthumously selected for this award, due to non-organisation of the program last year, these personalities will also be honoured this year.

PDF Reference URL: https://www.drishtiias.com/printpdf/uttarakhand-gaurav-award